CMS VATAVARAN Prithvi Ratna Award

The coveted CMS VATAVARAN Prithvi Ratna Award has been given since 2003 by CMS VATAVARAN to eminent filmmakers for their outstanding contribution to nature and conservation filming throughout their career which has resulted in bringing change in perception, practice and policy with regards to environment. Previous Awardees of Prithvi Ratna have been Mike Pandey, Naresh Bedi, Shekar Dattatri, Krishnendu Bose and Ashish Chandola.

The 2014 CMS VATAVARAN Prithvi Ratna Award was presented to eminent filmmaker Mr Sanjay Barnela.

Mr Barnela was awarded "for his profound efforts in significantly enhancing knowledge and information on environment issues, documenting the rich diversity of traditional practices using natural resources and highlighting conservation and livelihood issues".

The Award carried a Trophy, Citation and a Cash Prize of Rs 1,50,000/-.