2012: CMS VATAVARAN has travelled to Dehradun, Goa, Hyderabad, Jaipur and Kolkata with programmes built around the theme of biodiversity conservation. The festival and forum was held in 51 locations and 37 days. There were 250 film screenings, 4 panel discussions, 3 green filmmaking workshops, 3 media roundtables, 3 eco-tours (theme: healing the forest), biodiversity quiz, biodiversity mapping and felicitation of 16 grassroots individuals. It witnessed an overwhelming participation of 47,736 people from different sections of the society. Also, Hyderabad CMS VATAVARAN - Biodiversity Film Festival was organised for 11th Conference of the Parties (COP-11) to the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) delegates

2011: The theme for the sixth edition of the CMS VATAVARAN - Competitive Film Festival was Biodiversity. The jury consisted of 37 members who nominated 68 films (51 Indian films from 22 states and 17 international films from 27 countries) from 317 entries for the festival.

2010: The fourth travelling film festival went to 8 cities (Shimla, Hyderabad, Thiruvananthapuram, Port Blair, Shillong, Bhubaneswar, Patna and Ahmedabad) across India, with film screenings at more than 70 venues and participation of nearly 95,000 people. For the first time 'Green Heroes' were also felicitated.

2009: The fifth competitive film festival attracted 366 entries from 20 Indian states and 23 foreign countries. Shri Jahnu Baruah, eminent director was the chairperson of CMS VATAVARAN 2009 Award Jury.

2008: The third travelling film festival screened 304 films over a span of 24 days in 8 cities. Six national and 51 state partners lent support and approx. 80,000 participants attended.

2007: The festival drew 275 entries from 19 countries. Awards for technical excellence and the young environmental journalist award were initiated. Renowned filmmaker Shri Shyam Benegal was the jury chairperson.

2006: The travelling film festival went overseas to Abu Dhabi and Sao Paulo apart from visiting 10 Indian cities - Bangalore, Chandigarh, Chennai, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Kashmir, Kolkata, Pune, Ranchi and Sirmour.

2005: The third competitive film festival received 244 entries. The steering committee was chaired by Dr Karan Singh and Shri Shyam Benegal headed the Award Jury.

2004: The first travelling film festival went to Chennai, Coimbatore and Mumbai. People began recognising and supporting the CMS VATAVARAN environment awareness movement.

2003: The second competitive film festival became biennial. CMS and UNEP instituted an award 'Prithvi Ratna' (Jewel of Earth) for extraordinary contribution to wildlife filmmaking and natural history.

2002: India's one and only environment and wildlife Film Festival-CMS VATAVARAN - began its maiden run. The initiative was supported by the Ministry of Environment and Forests, Govt of India.