Young Environment Journalist Award (Print and Electronic)

Initiated in the year 2007 by CMS Environment, the awards are for excellence in environmental journalism. It is presented to an individual who has done exemplary investigative and inspired reporting on environmental issues in the country. These biennial awards are a countrywide recognition of two journalists (21-35 years of age) who have made a significant contribution in either the print or electronic media to an understanding of the nation's environmental problems.

The winners of the previous awards include Bahar Dutt (CNN-IBN) and Amarjyoti Borah (Freelancer) in 2007 | Aarti Dhar (The Hindu) and Pierre Fitter (NEWSX) in 2009 | Soma Basu (The Statesman, Kolkata) and Manu C Kumar (Manorama News, Mumbai) in 2011. Forum of Environmental Journalists of India (FEJI), TVE Asia Pacific and PANOS South Asia (PSA) has been the supporting partners for these honours over the years.

  • The applicants should be in the age group of 21-35 years.
  • The awards are open to Indian Journalists from both print and electronic media (national as well as regional and freelance journalists).
  • There are two awards. One each in print and electronic.
  • The applicants would be required to submit their work i.e. published/ broadcast stories (not more than 3 stories, i.e. print's scanned copy/e-news or news video or series) along with their application.
  • The award comprises of a trophy, citation and prize money of Rs 25,000/- each.